Capital Area Greenbelt Announces Annual Award Recipients

You are currently viewing Capital Area Greenbelt Announces Annual Award Recipients
CAGA held its annual Awards and Volunteer Recognition Picnic on April 24, 2022.

On April 24, the Capital Area Greenbelt Association (CAGA) held its annual Awards and Volunteer Recognition Picnic. Hosted at Fort Hunter Park in Harrisburg, the event celebrates and recognizes the organization’s valued partners, donors, and volunteers.

Following welcoming remarks from CAGA President Michael Shaull and comments by guest speaker Dauphin County Commissioner Chad Saylor, five awards were presented to individuals have who made significant contributions to CAGA’s efforts.

Dauphin County Commissioner Chad Saylor served as guest speaker for CAGA's awards event.

Award recipients included:

·       Patty Baughman: Patty has faithfully tended to the native plants at the Greenbelt’s Market Street trailhead, the MLK Memorial Garden, and the Five Senses Garden.

·       Josh Jacoby: Josh is CAGA’s “go-to guy” for all things tech, including redesigning the website, serving as webmaster, and developing an online events registration.

·       Bob Johnston: When a tree falls on the Greenbelt and SAMBA trails, Bob is the person to call. Additionally, he contributed countless hours in 2021 to clear the trails of brush and debris for Tour de Belt.

·       Sasha Ross: Sasha is the City of Harrisburg’s Parks Maintenance Supervisor. She responds promptly and professionally to CAGA’s requests for tree removal and issues of safety on the Greenbelt.

·       Elizabeth Terry: Elizabeth brought the Market Square Presbyterian Environmental Advisory Council to the Greenbelt, resulting in the planting of a grove of trees and the contribution of considerable help at the Five Senses Garden. 

CAGA presented its annual awards to five individuals for 2021. (Left to right: Bob Johnston, Josh Jacoby, Patty Baughman, Elizabeth Terry. Not photographed: Sasha Ross)

The event concluded with a tour of Fort Hunter, given by past CAGA President Carl Dickson.